The most beautiful bond

I’m reading a book sitting by the window seat, on the bus, desperately waiting to finish the chapter. The moment I finish, I look beside and find a woman, probably in her late twenties, playing with her daughter. They are completely in the moment. The daughter is probably 2 years old or so. I sometimes envy children for how effortlessly they can make you happy with just an unexpected smile.

It’s a feeling that can’t be expressed in words. The mother feels even happier looking at her child smile. After much thought, I ask her about the moment with her child that she cherishes the most. And she narrates it to me.

“She’s hardly a year old and it’s been a month since I started working again, to make sure our family met ends. No matter how occupied I’m at work, my thoughts keep drifting towards her every other moment. Is she having a good sleep? Is she missing me? Is the babysitter taking good care of her? It’s both the excitement of meeting her and the worry about her well-keeping that makes me eagerly wait to run out of office as soon as the clock strikes the bell.

I somehow manage to reach home as soon as I can. And then I see her totally engrossed in playing with her little toys. But it all changes, the moment she sees me. She drops everything that’s in her hands and throws a beautiful smile that makes me forget everything else. She swings both her hands in air and her face lits up with joy. She quickly drops her hands on the ground and puts in all the energy as she starts crawling towards me, carrying that smile.

I walk towards her as fast as I can to left her up. I kiss her on her cheeks and both of us become one as I hug her with love. I could die for that beautiful moment.” I am able to neither control my smile nor stop feeling beautiful inside on hearing that. She says she has another moment to share and I tell her to continue without hesitation.

“It’s a function at a relative’s place and the house is filled with people. Everybody wants to play with my little baby and they each take turn one after the other. I leave her to them and get engrossed in talks with other folks. It’s hardly been a few minutes and I hear her cry. She is probably feelimg claustrophobic. She is missing me.

I walk towards her and she flings her arms towards me from whosoever’s lap she is sitting on, unaware of the fact that she can’t fly. It takes a while for her to stop crying but she starts to feel at home on my chest. She clings on my shoulders and goes silent in a few seconds. I feel happy. I might be selfish here but when you realise that you’ve a powerful connection with someone special to you, someone who is worth much more than your life, you feel on top of the world.”

I don’t know about other mothers in other countries, but Indian parents still treat their grown-up sons and daughters as little children, with so much care and affection, as well as with the belief that their kids are still innocent, no matter how old they get. Their decisions as well choices on their tastes, their hunger, their dreams, their tiredness and such, on most occasions, matter to them only after their children’s needs have been taken care of.

divine-relationship-between-parents-and-children

How much can a soul possibly sacrifice? And then I look at my parents and other parents who love their children unconditionally and take such good care of them. We can never thank our parents enough for everything they are, to us.

ImageCredits – InSight Bulletin

Leave a Reply

